Subject: Good bye and may the Coalition continue to grow & thrive with all of you
From: "Reis, Beth" <>
Date: 12/20/2012 1:53 PM

Hello dear Safe Schools Coalition Members and Friends:

As I step down tomorrow, and knowing that many of you are making end-of-year thank-you gifts to the organizations you love, I want to ask everyone to give as generously as you possibly can to the Safe Schools Coalition.

Click here to join the Coalition! See

Click here to donate, if you don’t want to be considered a member per se:

I couldn’t be more grateful to have had a chance to work with you these past 25 years. Hats off to my agency, Public Health – Seattle & King County for allowing me to work to end health disparities among LGBTQ and gender expansive children and teens.

I also couldn’t possibly name here all the folks who have contributed to the Coalition over these 25 years. You know who you are. Please know that all the Coalition has accomplished was because of you.

Together we’ve helped to change the national conversation about LGBTQ youth and bias-based bullying in schools … and together we have helped the adults in schools to be way more inclusive of and responsive to LGBTQ students and parents … and ultimately, we have saved lives along the way.

I so look forward to seeing what the Coalition will become under its gifted new leadership team in 2013 and arising out of a planned 6-month conversation about what the Coalition should be.

Please help me enthusiastically welcome this energized, wonderful 2013 Leadership Team:

·       Matthew Wilson and Seth Kirby, Oasis Youth Center (also contractor): Lead Chair and Back-up Lead Chair --

·       Gabi Clayton, Families United Against Hate, Youth Guardian Services, PFLAG-Olympia (also contractor): Webspinnner, Chair of the Listserve Team --   

·       Eric Bennett, Gay Lesbian Straight Education Network-WA: Secretary --

·       Frank Couch and Kathryn Korch, Science & Management of Addictions: Secretaries --

·       Tracy Flynn, Welcoming Schools: Lead of the strategic planning/revisioning effort

·       Will Gibson, individual volunteer: Chair of the Intervention Team

·       Airen Lydick, Camp Ten Trees: Secretary --

·       Angela Rinaldo, Youth Suicide Prevention Program: Chair for Finance (this email will work by 1/1)

·       Kathy Sakahara, League of Women Voters of WA (also contractor) : Chair for Organizational Memberships, Development Director --

·       Christian Zsilavetz, individual volunteer: Chair for Personal Memberships (this email will work by 1/1)


Contact them by phone:

Safe Schools Coalition Bullying Crisis Line (24/7): 1-877-SAFE-SAFE (723-3723)

Safe Schools Coalition Message/Non-Emergency Line: 206-451-SAFE (7233)


In proud solidarity,

Beth Reis


Click here to join the Coalition! See

Click here to donate, if you don’t want to be considered a member per se: